:( SPRINGBOARD: I Failed :(

My Springboard journey have come to an end. I have again failed to be in the final. In all honesty, I feel like I have matured a lot compared to the my first attempt which was around 2 years ago. This time, I ended in the Top 4 but failed to make it to the Final ( the top 2 candidates). Luck played a big role in getting me to this position but it did not help me to the very end. If for anything, I have learned that staying humble and not be cocky is important. Be calm, expect less, and keep it simple. It is also important to be confident but not too confident. I have witnessed a lot of good speaker being eliminated before me for they being overly confident which mostly intimidated the judge. Even though, I am a bit disappointed with the fact that I have come this far but could not make it to the end, I gotta say I was quite confident with my very last speech. I got quite an easy topic and I did my best, but then I later realized other candidates also got easy topics. I guess I would have a higher chance of going through if everyone’s topic were hard like last rounds. However, the competition itself is slightly unfair. The judging is not justify. Candidates competing against each other receives different topics and are judged by different judges in different rooms. How can the score of the two be compared. Well, everything has its own flaw, and I honestly think I made it this far partly due to that flaw as well. LOL. Aside from the speech, I have made a lot of friends and gain support from many people. Again, I am always “good but not good enough”, but overall it was a rewarding experience. Regarding whether I am going to give it another try next year, I think the chances are small as I reckon the competition is quite unfair and I will have to see if I will be sponsor by the school again or not. ( I meant the 50$ registration fee.)

To make up for this failure:

  • I’ll read more to expand my general knowledge.
  • I’ll try to improve my pronunciation.
  • I need to learn how to calm my adrenaline.
  • I will try my best to win a trip abroad through some other competition, workshop, or conference so that I can get rid of my “good but never good enough” mindset.

Just for remembering, my topics were:

  • 2013:
    • Physical Education should be mandatory.
    • This house believes that there is an irrefutable proof that god does not exist and that we should use a fail-safe system to let people know about it.
  • 2015:
    • All drugs should be legal.
    • Low carbohydrates vs. Low fats diet
    • Popular literature is more valuable than classical literature.
    • Watching television makes you smarter.

Anyways, what’s strange though is that whenever I’m preparing for the competition. I think I always caught OCD like I feel the need to tidy my bed, my closet, my table, and clean my bathroom or I will not do well I thought. That’s good though, ain’t it?

On the dark side, why didn’t I made it through? No matter how I tried to think and write positively of it? Why? But, why? Why am I never good enough? Why do I always tripped by the finish line? Depression mood on~ I think I’m not motivated to do anything anymore. Sad.

Anyways, I would like to extend my thanks to my great grand parents, grandma, parents, and friends for always believing in me. I’m sorry I disappointed you all. 😦

-Virabot

12417827_1679813658933224_666880730438404749_n

Leave a Reply

